35: Culture: Ā„100 Shops (The Dollar Store)

Hey guys!

From the title of today’s post, you’re probably wondering why on earth someone would choose to write a culture post on dollar stores. šŸ˜†

The thing is, in Japan, they’re not even close to what we call ‘dollar’ stores back in the States. I mean sure, sometimes the quality of what you purchased isn’t the best, but it was a dollar, right?

Today I want to introduce three different Ā„100 shops: Daiso, Seria and Lawson 100.


daiso logo

Daiso

Many of you may already have heard of Daiso. I’d say it’s the most known Japanese dollar store abroad, because according to Wikipedia:

Daiso has 2,500 stores in Japan, 975 in South Korea, and 522 stores overseas in Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Kuwait, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Oman, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and Vietnam.
I don’t really want to talk so much about logistics or numbers, though, I kinda wanna just tell you why Daiso is awesome.


Why Daiso is Awesome

If I had to pick just one reason why Daiso is awesome, it would be for the fact that you could stock your kitchen, bathroom, heck your entire apartment with one trip to the store. For most people, moving to a new country take a LOT of money. You have to start your entire life (possessions-wise) pretty much from scratch.

Personally, I had a pretty bad image of dollar stores from the US, so I was hesitant to even go inside and look around at first. After funds ran low, (and I still needed pots and pans…and stuff to eat on…) swallowing a huge piece of humble pie, I went and had a look.

I ended up with an entire set of very chic ceramic white bowls, plates and serving ware for little over Ā„1,200 ($12). You can always go the colorful route ā†‘ā†‘, but I was very impressed with the white set I bought (and still use 5 years later).

I couldn’t help myself with the strawberry glasses, lol. If you’ve seen or read Nana, you know why. šŸ˜‰

Other than plates and kitchen stuff, Daiso is a good spot to pick up omiyage to take back home when you go. Also, some of the beauty products sold at Daiso have sort of a cult-following.

Daiso literally has everything. Also, since I felt as if I discovered the Holy Grail of stores in the form of Ā„100 shops, I was on a quest to find other similar stores.

This brings us to the next store on the list: Seria.


seria logoSeria

This store doesn’t have as much to choose from, but in my opinion the products are a little cuter (?) or they look like they’re a little better quality. Okay, so I can’t explain it well so I’ll just show you, lol.

In my opinion, Seria took a little more care with products and instead of a ‘we have everything’ kind of sales pitch, it’s more of a ‘look at the cute stuff you can get for Ā„100.’
Anyway, I super recommend this store for paper goods like stationary and gift wrap.

They also have really cute seasonal decorations and items. Ah, they also have really cute mug cups and kitchen stuff. Okay, so if you get the chance, just go have a look, lol. I dare you to walk out empty-handed!


Lawson 100

lawson 100

Last up is my absolute true love, Lawson’s 100 store. Lawson is a chain of convenience stores, so it’s like a 100 yen convenience store, complete with fresh fruits and veggies!

That means you can buy Ā„100 produce, guys. It probably only has a few days until expiration, but –Ā„100 produce-! I also like to buy chicken cuts here because they are neatly separated into 100g and since I live alone, it’ll just be a waste if I buy more than that. Like any other convenience store over here, they also have cup ramen and different toiletries as well.

There is a Lawson 100 store right by my home station, so sometimes it’s more convenient to go here than trek down to the supermarket. Plus it’s cheaper! That’s pretty much a win-win situation. Like, you can’t beat this if you’re on a budget.


In short…

Do not be too proud to swallow your pride and check out a Ā„100 store, you definitely won’t regret it. Living cost in Japan is quite high, so knowing little ways to cut corners here and there is literally a lifesaver! Besides, Japan does dollar stores like none other.

xo,
Trish sign blog

 

 

7 thoughts on “35: Culture: Ā„100 Shops (The Dollar Store)

  1. Stephanie says:

    I absolutely love Daiso, especially in Japan. Have you been to the Harajuku one? It’s massive and I drool every time I went in there. I’m heading back to Japan in April, and I’m more excited about Daiso and the konbini stores than is deemed normal.

    Do they even still have the instant hinoko pasta? I don’t remember the brand but they were in a cup and it was made with cream of mushroom soup, and I found them at Lawson in Asakusa. I stuffed my face with a packet everyday for lunch. Five years on, I still fantasise about the pasta.

    Stephanie
    thethriftyvegetarian.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Trish says:

      I may have visited the Harajuku one maaaany years ago, but it’s seriously been years. I’m pretty sure when I was in college, that’s where I bought a lot of souviners to take home, lol.
      OMG, I totally understand that! Like, I visited here in college and when I went home, I found that I was CRAVING Apple Tea (or really vending machines in general bc they’re awesome over here).
      They DO have a soup like that (I think it’s Lipton) with spiral noodles and cream of mushroom base. ā¤ ā¤ Don't worry, it's totally waiting for you! How long are you planning to stay in April? šŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for reading! ā¤ Keep me posted on your travels!!

      Like

      • Stephanie says:

        That’s exactly the one I was talking about, with the spiral pasta! Man, you have no idea how happy this makes me, I mean, I’ve literally got a wide grin on my face. Dude, I definitely have to bring an empty suitcase just for the soup pasta alone! No way in hell am I going to be deprived of these anymore. I also need to stock up on Frisk mints, I’m almost out šŸ˜¦

        I love the vending machines, but the ratio of rubbish bins to vending machines has always bugged me, because it means that at the end of the day, my bag is packed to the brim is rubbish. I’m gonna be in Japan for almost three weeks this time, and I’m planning on visiting Kyoto and Osaka. I’ve only been in Nagoya for a few hours just to try and get tickets to see Arashi in concert, then I got approached by one of the yakuza trying to sell scalped tickets. “Ne, onee-chan, you want a chiketo?” Awkward.

        Like

      • Trish says:

        You have inspired me to have that for lunch! šŸ˜€ I was fixed on that one and a tomato one a while back and would just kind of alternate them, lol. Oh gosh, I do so love Frisk mints! Definitely bring an extra bag for goodies! XD
        I’m such a bad citizen, because I just dump my garbage at the fist conbini I see, lol. I figure, if I’m out and about, I most likely got my stuff at a conbini anyway, so it’s okay.
        HAHAHA, creepy ticket scalpers are the bane of every fandom! First, expensive. Second, you’re scary, sir. I go through Arashi phases, but my love now is Kanjani, lol. Well, Eito and I like a group called ‘Spyair.’ They’re rock, but the singers voice is sooo freaking amazing. ā¤ Osusume desu! šŸ˜‰

        Like

    • Trish says:

      Heeeee!! ā¤
      Thank you so much!
      You totally should! There is so much to see here and idk, it's just different from any other place in the world.

      Thank you so much for reading! <3<3

      Like

  2. Raquel says:

    I LOVED THEM. I kept entering Daiso and buying things and sometimes just entered to look around, haha. I bought cute notebooks and silly things like that that I brought back with me. I was going to say I hadn’t been to Seria but I’m now pretty sure I did, just once. I spent most of my time in Osaka and there it was mostly Daiso so maybe that’s why. And convenience stores are the best thing ever. I miss that. I miss walking down the street, feel hungry and getting such cheap food. I’m a sucker for onigiri too, so I miss it even more, haha.
    xo!

    Like

Leave a comment