24: Pretty Things: ウサギ目メイク (rabbit eye makeup)

pretty things banner

Hey guys!
So there’s this trend in Japan I have to tell you about.

It all started when I was reading a fashion magazine and noticed that the model looked like she’d been crying. I thought that was a little strange, but I live in freaking Japan and sometimes it’s anything goes.

Then I was reading my favorite Japanese beauty blog, MERY and there was literally an article titled “Red isn’t just for cheeks anymore. Usagi eye makeup gives you the super cute and defenseless look that you’ve been crying” that was all about ウサギ目メイク (usagi eye makeup, or rabbit eyes).

You read that right.


Cute in Japan

Japanese women are all about being 可愛い (kawaii, or cute). Being a cute in Japan means you look meek and defenseless, like you need to be protected from everything. In my experience, Japanese men prefer it that way. Actually, a huge amount of Japanese men identify as 草食系男子 (soushouku danshi, or herbivore men) and these guys aren’t exactly the manliest of men on the planet. I think it’s because of this that Japanese women try to go above and beyond to look sweet and innocent. Again, only speaking from experience, men approach 可愛い (cute) women over  キレイ (kirei, or beautiful) women.

Hence making your eyes look like you’ve been crying. According to the article I read, it will “make his heart squeeze” at how cute you are.

ウサギ目メイク (usagi, or rabbit eye makeup)

These aren’t that extreme, but you can see that they have red lined around their eyes and blush really high on their cheekbones, close to their eyes.

Keep in mind that girls also are really big on wearing circle contact lenses to make their eyes appear bigger (and cuter).

It’s cute? I mean, I think it’s cute when done very lightly. I don’t really want to look like I’ve been crying, but wearing a pinkish red on my lids makes me feel super girly! ✨


How to

I seriously haven’t figured out how to take good pictures of makeup yet, so bare with me here. (Any tips?) I’ll post my attempt soon. In the meantime, I’ll walk you through how I tried to create a softer version of this look using Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette.

usagi eye with UD

  1. Use Urban Decay Primer Potion to set shadow.
  2. Apply Strange all over the lid.
  3. Lightly apply Buzz to the lower lid.
  4. Using the flat end of the brush in Naked 3, swipe Buzz under the eye, focusing on the outer corner.
  5. Using Dust in the crease of your lid, blend Buzz to soften the look.
  6. Line eye with Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eyeliner in Underground. (It’s a little on the metallic side, so maybe a softer brown would work better)
  7. I used a soft pink blush, but just like I normally apply. If you want to go all out, apply blush at the top of your cheekbones and blend up to the outer corners of your eyes.

Honestly, this look turned out more like ドファサルメイク (dofasaru makeup*) than ウサギメイク (rabbit makeup) because I didn’t blend the cheeks high.

*Um, I have no idea how to translate ドファサル (dofasaru). It’s a Korean pop star makeup trend.


What do you think?

I kinda like it, lol. Not for everyday and definitely not for work, but why not play with colors when you go out on the weekend? 🙂
I guess it’s a little more of a ‘trend’ over here because people usually have to be really muted in their daily lives (office/school) so the little touch of color really pops when they do use it.

white rabbitUsagi

Let me know what you think!
Would you try a look like this? Share, share!

xo,
Trish sign blog

 

 

2 thoughts on “24: Pretty Things: ウサギ目メイク (rabbit eye makeup)

  1. Wren Diamond says:

    I think it looks cute as occasional makeup. Some of my students wear it on weekends. But I wouldn’t dare try it with my pink/red English skin tone haha. I’d look so awful and florid.

    Like

    • Trish says:

      I have green eyes, so the red makes me look like I’m allergic to everything/Christmas time, lol. I did manage a softer pink look using UD, though. Still, I agree with ‘occasional.’ 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

