18: Merry Christmas

merry-christmas-text-art-bufzoyxmkMerry Christmas and Happy Holidays, y’all!

Hey guys! Merry Christmas!

I guess because I’ve lived in Japan for a while now, Christmas over here doesn’t seem like that strange of an ordeal.

My first Christmas over here was a little bit like Alice falling down the rabbit hole, though. I just didn’t really understand what was going on and why people were in such a rush to make reservations for KFC. (you read that right)

I’ll keep the explanation short, because I think most of you probably already live over here and have probably figured most of this out. Just in case though, let’s talk a little about Christmas in Japan.

Christmas in Japan

Keeping in mind that the country is, for the most part, not Christian, makes things a little less strange. It’s like they wanted to keep the holiday, but not let it have anything to do with religion at all. It’s not even a ‘holiday’ really. As in, it’s a regular work day.

That being said, Christmas is really fun for maybe little kids and couples. But more for couples. Actually, it’s a very couple-y holiday.

If you’re in a relationship, you do one of two things: go for dinner at a really nice restaurant and exchange presents or eat chicken, Christmas cake and exchange presents. Usually on Christmas eve.

Here’s an advertisement for KFC that went around this winter:

VQNpoMxss1HV2L5_z6Kcr_29You have to reserve the chicken. Yes, that’s almost $40.00 for KFC.

I feel like Christmas is the only time of year that I can eat cake and not feel guilty. (HA) I mean, everybody eats cake on Christmas, right? Right? …am I reaching?

taka3
Cakes are usually strawberry shortcake, but they can get pretty fancy.

Single Bells

Sung to the tune of “Jingle Bells,” we have “Single Bells” or “Single Hell.” I’m serious. My students sang it as a joke. (LOL)  If you’re single, hope a friend is having a party or someone is going to the bar or that there is something you can do. It’s probably not going to feel like Christmas like you’re used to, but you can totally make it into your Christmas. No matter how much you make it into some sort of a holiday for yourself, it still stings a little to be surrounded by happy couples walking hand in hand, gazing lovingly at each other. Stings and at the same time, my gag reflex kind of kicks in and …what, I’m not bitter!

So what did I do on Christmas eve? My friends and I are more of the ‘go to the bar’ type, so that’s exactly what we did! 🙂

We wore reindeer antlers, Santa hats and had an awesome time!
I even got to eat some Christmas chicken.
image1

All in all, I’d call it a wonderful Christmas eve and a wonderful start to the holiday season.


What did you guys do? Fun parties? Nice date?
Share, share!

xo,
Trish sign blog.jpg

One thought on “18: Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

