11: Places: Toki Outlet

resource1_1212391184

Hey guys!

A couple of weeks ago, a friend and I went shopping at Toki Outlet Mall in Gifu. Where I’m from in Texas (east), it takes FOREVER to get to a decent outlet mall (think 6 or 7 hours by car), so when my Japanese friend was all “it takes about 2 hours to get there,” I laughed.

map_Nagoya_and_TokaiToki is about where the yellow dot is.

I guess growing up where a normal trip to the mall involves an hour long car trip made me grow thick skin? (HAH)


 

Toki Outlet Mall

The website boasts 180 outlet stores, but I don’t really remember seeing that many. I will say that there is a good mix of popular Japanese brands (like BEAMS, Natural Beauty Basic, and United Arrows) and Western brands (Coach, Ralph Lauren, Forever 21, and Kate Spade).

image1They decorated for Christmas! (ofc)

As with most outlet malls, there was a slight discount on most items. The thing is, and I’m going to say this as nicely as possible: it’s not that much of a difference. I’m just not going to wet myself over 10% off of something that already costs ‎¥20,000 (about $200.00 US), ya feel me?

One thing Japan does really well, though, is time sales. Basically they give an additional discount or have a special item heavily discounted for a set amount of time (usually 30-minutes or an hour). GAP had their logo sweatshirts for ‎¥2,500 (about $25 US), which is about half off. That was awesome. 🙂

image2Can’t go wrong with skin care!

I bought lotions because The Body Shop is like the LUSH of the lotion world. Natural, cruelty-free and yummy. Also, Frosted Cranberry body butter smells so freaking good, you could eat it.


Verdict

It was a fun trip out of the city. It’s rare that I get to go anywhere by car these days, so that was nice. The outlet mall was also fun to browse and gave me a ton of ideas for Christmas presents! I recommend checking it out, at least once if you’re in the Tokai area.

xo,
T

Leave a Reply

