3: New Trish

hello_greeting_card_6286001722

Okay, so when I started this blog, I seriously didn’t think I’d immediately take a 2 month vacation from actually blogging. (oops)

To make a long story short, lots of things happened. I don’t really want to go into detail, but let’s just say it’s been rough. What’s important right now isn’t that it was probably one of the most difficult few months I’ll ever experience, but that I made it through with minimal scarring. I suppose I’m freaking resilient like that. I’m changed, though, that’s for sure.

Meh.

Shine on, you crazy diamond.

Anyway, that brings me to the meat of this post!

I’ve had long hair pretty much for the past decade.

Ok, so there was a short-lived affair with a poorly done bob (it really is all about the shaping, no?) but we won’t count that because.

Basically, I’ve looked like this:

for a long time.

Naturally, I was terrified of cutting it off. I’m not the biggest fan of change, especially sudden (cringe) change.

In Japan, there’s a kind of…image(?) that people get when a girl cuts her hair off. They say that girls who have been dumped (HAH) cut their hair off, so that they can grow out their hair all fresh and new and meet a new love with fresh, new hair. I..I’m sure there’s a more eloquent way to put that, but whatevs.

Perfect!

The scariest part about getting a new style over here (even if you speak the language) is that Japanese hair and western (at least my) hair is SO CRAZY different. Theirs is usually thick, straight and there’s a ton of it. Mine is…fine, wavy and thin- so basically the opposite, lol. I’ll do another post about Nagoya humidity and getting Hermione-esque hair to be manageable hair some time. Trust me, it’s valuable information!
Anyway, I did my research and found a cut I liked, made an appointment at my usual spot* and went for it!

image4

(lol, no I didn’t turn Japanese. This is the pic I showed Keigo.)
*I feel like I need to say that I’ve used the same salon for about 4 years now and I couldn’t even imagine going anywhere else. They are amazing, seriously. Actually, going to a salon in Japan is unlike any salon experience I ever had in the US. I’m not even kidding when I say I’m forever spoiled because they seriously just make a girl feel like a freaking rock star. Who doesn’t want to feel like a rock star? So if you’re in Nagoya and need a hair cut/treatment/perm/set, check out Bitter and ask for Keigo. You will regret nothing.

So what happened??

image6

Sadly, I don’t have a really good picture of my new hair. By that I mean, this was taken at an early Christmas party the day after I cut it. (LOLOLOL)

I promise to have a better pic taken soon!


Wrapping it all up: I’m back, I’ll be alright, I have short hair AND I’m looking forward to BIG BIG things coming soon!

xo,

T

Leave a Reply

